What is Dwarf Football?

Dwarf Football is for players of various skeletal dysplasias associated with dwarfism in a fair way and together with the different institutions related to sport.

What is Dwarf Football?

Who can play?

Persons with any type of dwarfism are eligible to compete in events that are sanctioned or approved by IDSF. Height for disproportionate dysplasia shall not exceed 5 feet 2 inches for males (157.5 cm), female’s maximum height shall not exceed 5ft (152.4cm). Height for a proportionate dysplasia shall not exceed 5ft (152.4 cm) for males, female’s maximum height shall not exceed 4ft 10ins (147.3cm). All athletes with proportionate short stature must prove their genetic condition at classification.

Sport Rules

IFAB Laws of the Game

IFAB rules apply to Dwarf Football competitions with the following exceptions:

  • 8-a-side - 7 Outfield and 1 goalkeeper.
  • Players may not contact the ball with the head.
  • Slide tackling is not allowed.


Classification is an essential component of the World Dwarf Games. Athletes are divided into four classes, depending on their condition, height, arm span, and function. The system ensures fairness, eligibility and an equal playing field (in some events/sports). 


Class 1. This class typically includes athletes with achondroplasia, diastrophic dysplasia, spondyloepiphyseal dysplasia congenita (SEDc), and any athlete whose standing height is significantly shorter than the average height of the dwarf population for their diagnosis.

Class 2.  This class typically includes athletes with achondroplasia and cartilage hair hypoplasia (metaphyseal chrondrodysplasia, McKusik type).

Class 3. This class typically includes athletes with achondroplasia, hypochondroplasia, SED tarda, cartilage hair hypoplasia, and most undiagnosed types of dwarfism.

Class 4.This class is active only in team events identified as contact sports including football, basketball and hockey.